Mariyam Zamani was one of the Queens of Emperor Akbar. In 1614 AD, she built a mosque near Masti Gate Lahore. This mosque is one of the most ancient one in the city and is also called ‘Begum Shahi Masjid‘.
With its fine fresco painting, the mosque depicts the sophisticated taste of Mughal Imperial Harem. It has also been called as ‘Barood Khana Wali Masjid’ on account of being utilized as a gun powder factory by Ranjit Singh. Under the British, the mosque was restored to the Muslims in 1850 AD.
The mosque has been encroached upon by several shops, and views of the mosque from the Akbari Gate of the Lahore Fort have been obstructed by illegally constructed tyre shops. In July 2016, the Walled City of Lahore Authority announced that the shops would be removed, and the mosque would also be conserved and restored.